First, there was Trayvon Martin (aka “Saint Skittles”).

Then, there was Michael Brown, the so-called “Gentle Giant”.

Now, there’s a new martyr for the “Black Lives Matter” cause: Harambe.

https://ca.news.yahoo.com/killing-gorilla-save-boy-ohio-zoo-sparks-outrage-175543989.html

Eyewitnesses say that Harambe was unarmed when he was shot. Zoo authorities have declined to comment on this.

Seriously though, I have two issues with this story. First is the problem of not holding parents accountable for their mistakes (if not outright incompetence), and trying to identify something else to blame instead. Yes, children can be sneaky and it’s practically impossible to focus one’s attention on anything all the time. But instances of parents being blatantly incompetent are certainly not uncommon these days. People who decide to have children should try to make sure that they can do the job properly. But then again, doing a job properly doesn’t seem to be very popular anymore.

I probably shouldn’t mention that natural selection has a way of dealing with stupid kids who do stupid things…

The other issue I have is with the very idea of a zoo. Displaying wild animals from all over the world for the entertainment of the masses just doesn’t sit right with me. I admit that there is some educational potential in a zoo, but is this particular kind of education necessary? Do children really need to see gorillas, kangaroos and hippopotami in real life? I don’t think so. And when I think of all the time, money and effort that is spent in constructing ever more elaborate and grandiose habitats and enclosures, I just gotta shake my head.

The way I see it, if I really wanted to see a gorilla, I should have to go to Africa to see one in the wild. If I really wanted to see a tiger, I should have to go to Asia to see one in the wild. If I wanted to see a kangaroo, I should have to go to Australia to see one in the wild. And if I can’t do that, too bad.

Likewise, if I really wanted to see a Black African individual, I should have to go to Africa to see one in his own land. If I really wanted to see a Chinese or an East Indian individual, I should have to go to China or India to see one in his own land. And if I wanted to see an Australian Aborigine, I should have to go to Australia to see one in a part of Australia which is his own land.

