I felt a strong pull upwards, and I rose up through the heavens. As I went through all nine heavenly spheres, during which feelings of freedom and peace constantly increased, I was able to observe the spirits of light that were in each successive sphere.

In the first heavenly sphere were the dimmest spirits in whom the affinity for the Truth only slightly prevailed over the affinity for Falsehood. I noticed that these spirits of the first heavenly sphere would very frequently fall back to Earth and that other spirits would just as frequently replace them. In the second heavenly sphere were spirits in whom the affinity for the Truth was greater with respect to the affinity for Falsehood, and who were thus somewhat brighter than the spirits in the first heavenly sphere. I saw that these spirits also fell back to Earth and were replaced by other spirits too, though not as frequently as in the first heavenly sphere. The spirits in the following heavenly spheres increased in affinity for the Truth with respect to affinity for Falsehood and in corresponding brightness as well, and the number of them that fell back to Earth and were replaced decreased proportionately.

I then arrived at the ninth heavenly sphere beyond which I could not go further. In this sphere were the spirits who had achieved a most complete affinity for the Truth and who had thus completely eliminated any affinity for Falsehood. These spirits were the most brilliant spirits, none of which ever fall back to Earth. From the upper edge of the ninth heavenly sphere, which was the outer edge of heaven, I was able to see the True God.

I saw the True God beyond the nine heavenly spheres, beyond the entire Universe, seated on a throne which is called Truth. To the right of the True God, I saw a Son of the True God, the one who hates that which should be hated, who rejects that which should be rejected, who breaks that which should be broken, who destroys that which should be destroyed, who kills that which should be killed, who fells that which should be felled, who hinders that which should be hindered, who harms that which should be harmed. To the left of the True God, I saw the other Son of the True God, the one who loves that which should be loved, who accepts that which should be accepted, who makes that which should be made, who builds that which should be built, who creates that which should be created, who supports that which should be supported, who helps that which should be helped, who heals that which should be healed.

Eventually, the pull upwards left me. I descended through the nine heavenly spheres, the feelings of freedom and peace diminishing all the while. Having returned to the Middle World which is the Earth, I stood there a while, contemplating what I had seen and what it meant.

Then another pull took hold of me, but this was a pull downwards. Though I struggled against it with everything I had, I could not keep it from dragging me downwards through the hells. As I went through all nine levels of the hells, during which feelings of constriction and anguish constantly increased, I was able to observe the spirits of darkness that were in each successive level.

In the first level of the hells were the somber spirits in whom the affinity for Falsehood only slightly prevailed over the affinity for the Truth. I noticed that these spirits of the first level of the hells would very frequently rise back up to Earth and that other spirits would just as frequently replace them. In the second level of the hells were spirits in whom the affinity for Falsehood was greater with respect to the affinity for the Truth, and who were thus somewhat darker than the spirits in the first level of the hells. I saw that these spirits also rose back up to Earth and were replaced by others too, though not as frequently as in the first level of the hells. The spirits in the following levels of the hells increased in affinity for Falsehood with respect to affinity for the Truth and in corresponding darkness as well, and the number of them that rose back up to Earth and were replaced decreased proportionately.

I finally arrived at the ninth level of the hells, and I was dragged no further. In this level of the hells were the spirits who had achieved a most complete affinity for Falsehood and who had thus completely eliminated any affinity for the Truth. These spirits were the darkest spirits, none of which ever rose back up to Earth. From the lower edge of the ninth level of the hells, which was the outer edge of Hell, I was able to see the False God who is the opposite of the True God.

I saw the False God beyond the nine levels of the hells, beyond the entire Universe, seated on a throne which is called Lie. To the left of the False God, I saw a Son of the False God, the one who hates that which should not be hated, who rejects that which should not be rejected, who breaks that which should not be broken, who destroys that which should not be destroyed, who kills that which should not be killed, who fells that which should not be felled, who hinders that which should not be hindered, who harms that which should not be harmed. To the right of the False God, I saw the other Son of the False God, the one who loves that which should not be loved, who accepts that which should not be accepted, who makes that which should not be made, who builds that which should not be built, who creates that which should not be created, who supports that which should not be supported, who helps that which should not be helped, who heals that which should not be healed.

Eventually, the pull downwards left me. I ascended through the nine levels of Hell, the feelings of constriction and anguish diminishing all the while. Having returned to the Middle World which is the Earth, I stood there a while, contemplating what I had seen and what it meant…

